Art Education Resource Guide
Introduction
This guide provides an overview of tools and basic strategies for conducting library research in Art Education. Art education is a field with strong interdisciplinary ties. Researchers may need to consult sources in a number of subject areas, including (but not limited to) the arts, education, psychology, psychiatry, tests and measurements, sociology, public administration, museum studies, recreation studies, and government information. Included is information on finding circulating books and reference sources, journals (both in print and online), databases, and major Internet resources. All collections marked VCU are available on both campuses OR off-campus with EZProxy.
Check the catalog
Search the Library Catalog to determine what books, journals, and audiovisual materials the Libraries own and where they are located.
- General searching: When you are looking for books on a topic do a Words Anywhere search first.
example: art education. - E-Books: VCU Libraries provides access to a collection of electronic books through NetLibrary VCU . (From the home page, click "Quick Links," and choose "E-Books.") NetLibrary is a collection of electronic books from leading university, trade and professional publishers available via the Internet 24 hours a day. For full access, VCU faculty, students and staff must first create free individual user accounts. More about NetLibrary.
- Browsing the shelves: Use the following sections of the Library of Congress Classes for Fine Arts to browse the shelves for books.
- N 81 - N 390 -- Visual Arts. Study and Teaching. Research.
- NA 2000 - NA 2320 -- Architecture. Study and Teaching. Research.
- NB 1120 - NB 1133 -- Sculpture. Study and Teaching.
- NC 390 - NC 670 -- Drawing. Study and Teaching.
- ND 1115 - ND 1120 -- Painting. Study and Teaching.
- NE 970 - NE 973 -- Print Media. Study and Teaching.
- NX 280 - NX 410 -- Arts in General. Study and Teaching. Research.
- Where do I find things? Check out where things are in the Cabell Library.
- Do other libraries have what you need?
- Interlibrary Loan: VCU Libraries will get the items that you need if they are not in the collections. You do not need to identify which library has the required item - we'll do that for you. See what you need to do. To search for materials in other libraries, use the Worldcat VCU database or check the catalogs of other Virginia Libraries.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Education. Cabell Library Reference LB 15 .E47 2003 (10 vol.)
- Encyclopedia of Educational Research. Cabell Library Reference LB 15 .E48 1992
- Encyclopedia of Psychology. Cabell Library Reference BF 31 .E52 2000
- Encyclopedia of World Art. Cabell Library Reference N 31 .E533
Schools, Funding, Careers and Organizations Directories
- American Art Directory. Cabell Library Reference N 50 .A54
- Directory of M.A. and Ph.D. Programs in Art and Art History. Cabell Library Reference N 328 .D567 1995
- Museum Careers and Training: A Professional Guide. Cabell Library Reference AM 7 .D34 1994
- National Directory of Arts Internships. Cabell Library Reference - Careers/Resume Table NX 280 .N37
- The Official Museum Directory. Cabell Library Reference AM 10 .A2 O4
Handbooks, Manuals, and Research Guides
- Art Education: A Guide to Information Resources. Cabell Library Z 5818 .A8 B85
- Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Cabell Library Z 5811 .B89 2000 and Online VCU
- Handbook for Museums. Cabell Library AM 5 .E37 1993.
- Psychology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Cabell Library Reference Z 7201 .B39 1993
- Resources for Educating Artistically Talented Students. Cabell Library LC 3993.265 .C54 1987
- Visual Arts Teacher Resource Handbook: A Practical Guide for Teaching K-12 Visual Arts. Cabell Library N 353 .V59 1993
Journal Finder
E-Journal Search
This will let you know whether an electronic version of a journal is available from VCU. Links to journals are provided. Note: the search box only searches for the names of journals, not the subject content - use one of the research databases for this.
Alternative : Go to the VCU Libraries Catalog, select the journal tab, type in the title of the journal.
Selected Journals
- Art Education. Cabell Library Current Periodicals and Bound Journals (2nd floor)
- Art Journal. VCU Cabell Library Current Periodicals and Bound Journals (2nd floor)
- International Journal of Art and Design Education. VCU
- International Journal of Education and the Arts.
- The Journal of Aesthetic Education. VCU Cabell Library Bound Journals (2nd floor)
- Studies in Art Education. Cabell Library Current Periodicals and Bound Journals (2nd floor)
- Visual Arts Research. Cabell Library Bound Journals (2nd floor)
Most of these databases feature the "Get it @VCU" tab -
. This service provides hyperlinks to a variety of options such as the electronic full-text (if available), the VCU library catalog, ILLiad, and Ask-a-Librarian.
ARTbibliographies Modern (CSA) VCU (1974 - present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Art Full Text VCU (1984 - present) AND Art Index Retrospective VCU (1929 - 1984)
Citations and some full text to articles from periodicals published throughout the world including yearbooks and museum bulletins. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Retrospective is an electronic version of Art Index, volumes 1-32, and contains all citations found in the print version. (Tip: to search for images or illustrations, use a keyword search including "AND illustration" or "AND (illustration OR reproduction)" along with your topic terms or artist's name.)
Arts and Humanities Citation Index via ISI Web of Science VCU (1975 - present)
Database of references cited in articles from 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Search by cited reference, topic, and author. Web of Science Tutorial
ARTstor VCU
Curated collections of digital art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to enter. Uses cookies and pop-ups.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals VCU (1930s - present)
Citations from international architecture literature. Also includes archaeology, city planning, interior design and set design. Selectives coverage dating back to 1860s.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art VCU (1973 - present)
Citations and abstracts of books, conference proceedings, dissertations, catalogs, and journal articles. Covers European and American art from antiquity to the present.
Design and Applied Arts Index VCU (1973 - present)
The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world.
Dissertation Abstracts Online VCU (1980 - present)
Abstracts of dissertations completed in the U.S. and abroad. See finding dissertations for additional help.
ERIC VCU (1966 - present)
Abstracts of articles, books, and Department of Education publications including links to some full text reports. There are three versions of ERIC including EBSCO, FirstSearch, and Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA), as well as the freely available database at http://www.eric.ed.gov. For older articles, see the Education Index (Cabell Library Reference L11.Z994), covering education literature from 1929 - 1997.
PsycInfo VCU (1887 - present)
Scholarly psychology material including empirical research and peer reviewed journal articles from 1887 to the present.
Complete list of all Arts databases - click "Brief View" to see full description of each database.
Aesthetics Teaching Resources (American Society of Aesthetics) (http://aesthetics-online.org/teaching/index.php)
The ASA sponsors an annual conference and three divisional conferences annually and publishes the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism and the ASA Newsletter.
Here you'll find articles about aesthetics, philosophy of art, art theory and art criticism, as well as information about aesthetics events worldwide, and links to other aesthetics-related resources on the internet.
Art Education Page for K-12 (http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/arteducation.htm) - The Internet School Library Media Center (ISLMC) Art Education page is a meta-site for teachers, librarians, parents and students to preview selected links.
Arts Education Partnership (http://aep-arts.org/) - The Arts Education Partnership (AEP) is a national coalition of arts, education, business, philanthropic and government organizations that demonstrate and promote the essential role of the arts in the learning and development of every child and in the improvement of America's schools.
Arts - The Educator's Reference Desk (http://www.eduref.org/cgi-bin/res.cgi/Subjects/Arts) - From the Information Institute of Syracuse, the people who created AskERIC, the Gateway to Educational Materials, and the Virtual Reference Desk. 2,000+ lesson plans, 3,000+ links to online education information, and 200+ question archive responses are included.
ArtsEdge: The National Arts and Education Information Network (http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/) - ARTSEDGE — the National Arts and Education Network — supports the placement of the arts at the center of the curriculum and advocates creative use of technology to enhance the K-12 educational experience. ARTSEDGE offers free, standards-based teaching materials for use in and out of the classroom, as well as professional development resources, student materials, and guidelines for arts-based instruction and assessment.
BUBL Link: Catalogue of Art Education Resources (http://bubl.ac.uk/link/a/arteducation.htm) - A collection of annotated web links relevant to art education. All entries are categorized by author, subject, resource type, and Dewey class number.
Education at The Getty (http://www.getty.edu/education/) - Includes a searchable databases of lesson plans by grade level and subject area as well as a guide on how to build visual arts lessons.
McRel Resources: Lesson Plans: The Arts (http://www.mcrel.org/lesson-plans/arts/index.asp) - A collection of lesson plans and activities for use in the classroom for dance, music, theatre, and the visual arts.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Explore and Learn (http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/) - Includes publications for educators and for kids as well as closer looks at some of the Met's objects.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Educational Resources: Online Resources (http://www.metmuseum.org/education/er_online_resourc.asp) - The Museum library's online catalog as well as hundreds of art-related and general resources for online research.
National Art Education Association (http://www.naea-reston.org/) - The National Art Education Association (NAEA) promotes art education through professional development, service, advancement of knowledge, and leadership.