Search


  Black History Month Resource Guide

Librarian
Name: Jennifer Darragh
Phone: (804) 828-8961
Email: jdarragh@vcu.edu

Librarian
Name: John Glover
Phone: (804) 828-6555
Email: jglover2@vcu.edu

introduction

This guide has been created as a gateway to resources inside and outside the VCU Libraries on black history and the African American experience.  Check the VCU Libraries Black History Month Web Page for information on our sponsored event, highlights from special collections, suggested reading, and multimedia presentation.

Books

Books: For an introduction to black history, the civil rights movement, and the African American experience, you can consult the following books listed below.  Note that these are only a sample of our holdings, and you can find more by browsing the shelves where these titles are located.


Afro-American Encyclopedia
Cabell Library Reference E185. A28


Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Cabell Library Reference HN57. E594


Almanac of African American Heritage: A Book of Lists Featuring People, Places, Times, and Events that Shaped Black Culture
Cabell Library Stacks (3rd Floor) E185 .A448


Essays in the History of the American Negro
Cabell Library Stacks (3rd Floor) E185 .A6


The Encyclopedia of African American Heritage
(netLibrary VCU) Title E185 .A455

return to top

film, video and other multimedia

Multimedia: Below is a sample of multimedia resources covering the African American experience and Civil Rights Movement. 


Africans in America: America’s Journey Through Slavery

Cabell Library Media & Reserves (3rd Floor) E441. A37 - available on VHS and streaming video


Africans in America (Four Part Television Program)
Cabell Library Streaming Video E441. A45


Interview With Oliver Hill, Sr.
Cabell Library Media & Reserves (3rd Floor) LC214.2 .H552 - available on DVD


Voices of Freedom: the Virginia Civil Rights Movement (Oral Histories)
Cabell Library Special Collections Online E185.93.V8 V65


The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
Cabel Library Media & Reserves (3rd Floor) E185.61 .R574 - available on DVD

return to top

data and statistics

Data and Statistics: Below are some statistical and analyzable data resources covering the African American experience past and present.   


African American History Month: 50 Years of Change (U.S. Census Bureau)

Includes data and statistics, graphs, video, still images, radio broadcasts and reports providing information about African American Life in the United States.

Historical Statistics of Black America

Cabell Library Reference E185. .H543


The Black Population in the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)

Website containing links to detailed tables and reports on the African American population in the United States.  Decennial census reports as far back as 1790 and current projections.


Minority Resource Data Center (ICPSR VCU)

The goal of the MRDC is to provide educators, researchers and students with data resources that can be used in the analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States.

return to top

web resources

Resources on the Web: There are many Web-based resources specifically on Black History Month and its celebration. The following web sites provide a wealth of information on this significant event from the U.S. government, universities, and educational and technology organizations.

 

African American History Month (U.S. Department of State International Information Programs)
Contains the Presidential Proclamation; questions and answers from the ASALH on this event, and annotated links to black history sites.


African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
Covers nearly 500 years of black experience in the Western hemisphere and includes information from the full range of Library of Congress holdings. Covers four areas: Colonization, Abolition, Migrations, and the WPA.


African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920
Library of Congress collection consisting of 1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1850 through 1920. Many titles are associated with the novel and the play Uncle Tom's Cabin.


AFRO-Americ@'s Black History Museum
Includes interactive exhibits on the Tuskegee Airmen, Jackie Robinson, the Black Panther Party, and more.


Black History: Exploring African-American Issues On the Web (Pacific Bell Knowledge Network)
Six websites on African-American history created "...to suggest ways to integrate the World Wide Web and videoconferencing into classroom learning."


Black History Month (CNN Interactive and World African Network)
Includes Timeline, Happenings, Site Sampler, Stories, and Quiz.


Black History Month Resources (History Department, Tennessee Technological University)
Comprehensive list of black history links.


Celebrate Black History from the History Channel: Exhibits
Biographies of African Americans; Roots exhibit; listing of Black History Month programming on the History Channel.


Celebrate Black History Month with the Encyclopaedia Britannica
This guide traces two millennia of black history, and the browse features enable you to pinpoint the central people, places, topics, and events covered in Black History. Encyclopaedia Britannica's Guide to Black History represents an effort to trace the African American experience and achievements in the United States and elsewhere.


DoD - African-American History Month (U.S. Department of Defense)
Focuses on African-Americans in the military.


Surfing the Net With Kids: Black History Month
Sites for children.