Chemistry Resource Guide
VCU Available on both campuses OR from home with proper setup.
Libraries Available only on computers within either of the VCU Libraries (Cabell or Tompkins-McCaw).
Beilstein & Gmelin CrossFire Databases Libraries
The CrossFire Beilstein database is the world's largest compilation of chemical facts.
CrossFire Beilstein indexes three primary data domains: substances, reactions, and literature. Beilstein contains information for
more than 9,218,366 substance records,
reaction data for more than 8 million substances from 1779 to the present.
CrossFire Beilstein offers scientists comprehensive detail, fast search speeds, and high-quality data indexed from over 175 journals.
The CrossFire Gmelin database is the world's most comprehensive data collection in organometallic and inorganic chemistry, covering literature from the year 1772 to today.
The database contains over 2.2 million compounds, more than 1.6 million reactions, and 1.1 million citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995. CrossFire Gmelin is fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions. The data are indexed from 62 journals. CrossFire is accessible from public workstations in the Cabell and Tompkins-McCaw
Libraries.
Download Beilstein Client for your desktop
CHEMnetBASE VCU
Full-text searchable database of Chapman & Hall/CRC Press chemical reference books. Includes CCD and Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. Search or browse individual books, or search multiple books. Texts are in interactive PDF format. Adobe Acrobat Reader required
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics VCU
Get wealth of data from this latest online version of CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
MATERIALSnetBASE VCU
Full-text searchable database of more than 50 CRC Press materials science handbooks and reference books. Search or browse individual books, or search multiple books. Texts are in interactive PDF format. Adobe Acrobat Reader required
SciFinder Scholar is the online version of Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present). SciFinder Scholar provides access to CAplus, CASReact, and Registry databases. Searches can be performed for chemical substances and reactions, research topics, authors, and CA abstract number or patent number. Log off when finished.
Download SciFinder Scholar client for your desktop VCU
Interactive tutorials available for downloading
Web of Science VCU
- The Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded which is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Cited reference searches can be performed to track who has cited a particular published article. The Science Citation Index Expanded includes all cited references captured from indexed articles.
Online Journals VCU
Consists of 18,000 full-text journals, standalone and aggregated. Browse the journal titles from a particular publisher or vendor. Or search individual titles from the Catalog or Online Journal Search
Selected Print Reference Materials
The ACS style guide: a manual for authors and editors; Janet
S. Dodd, editor.
2nd ed. Washington, DC : American Chemical Society, 1997s
CABELL Reference: QD8.5.A25 1997
Compendium of chemical terminology: IUPAC recommendations; compiled
by
Alan D. McNaught and Andrew Wilkinson.
2nd ed. Oxford; Malden, MA : Blackwell Science, 1997.
CABELL Reference: QD5 .C455 1997
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics; 1977+
Cleveland, Ohio: CRC Press
CABELL Reference, Stacks: QD65 .H3
Tompkins-McCaw Reference, Stacks: QD65 .H236P
CRC handbook of laboratory safety; A. Keith Furr.
4th ed., Boca Raton: CRC Press, 1995.
CABELL Reference: QD51 .C73 2000
Basic Terminology
of Stereochemistry
A glossary of terms used in stereochemical nomenclature.
ChemConnect
Promotes itself as connecting chemical buyers and sellers worldwide.
Chemdex
The Sheffield Chemdex: the directory of Chemistry on the web since 1993.
EINet
Galaxy
A directory for chemical information.
Green
Chemistry Expert System
Environmental Protection Agency
Guide to Chemistry
Information
An automated system which can help you to locate reference material
pertaining to your chemical information need.
InfoSurf
- Chemistry
This site provides lists of links to electronic journals and publishers,
professional societies, material safety data sheets, and a useful list
of chemical data sources.
- American Chemical Society
- American Institute of Chemical Engineers
- American Society for Mass Spectroscopy
- Danish Chemical Society
- Electrochemical Society
- European Chemical Society
- IUPAC
- Royal Society of Chemistry
- Society for Applied Spectroscopy
- Duke University
- Indiana University
- Stanford University
- University of Chicago
- University of North Carolina
- University of Virginia
- University of Wisconsin