Citation Styles Resource Guide
Introduction
Citation styles are an important part of the larger process of academic research and writing. Each profession or discipline has a preferred style or format for researchers to use so that published works conform to accepted standards. A citation style provides a uniform way of documenting the sources used in the preparation of the work, thus facilitating scholarly communication.
ACS: American Chemical Society Style
Authoritative Source
The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information. 3rd edition. Cabell Reference Desk QD8.5 .A25 2006
Other Sources
Quick Guide to Citing Using the ACS Style Guide, 3rd ed.
Examples based on Chapter 14 of the Style Guide; from Penn State Libraries.
APA: American Psychological Association Style
Authoritative Source
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th edition (2nd printing). Cabell Reference Desk BF76.7 .P83 2010
NOTE: The 1st printing of the 6th edition of the APA Style Guide has a number of errors, especially in the sample papers. If you have the 1st printing, be sure to visit the APA site to find the links to the corrections sheets and to the corrected sample papers.
APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources VCU. Revised and updated version of section 4.16 of the 5th edition (2001, pp. 268-281).
APA Style.org
Companion site to the Publication Manual. Learning APA Style provides links to tutorials and FAQs.
Other Sources
APA Formatting and Style Guide (Online Writing Center - OWL at Purdue University)
Examples of papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. Printable version via "Full Resource for Printing" link on the internal toolbar.
DocsCite
Step-by-step guide for citing government publications in APA style from Arizona State University Libraries. Select APA from the dropdown menu and follow the directions.
CSE: Council of Science Editors (formerly Council of Biology Editors)
Authoritative Source
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 7th edition. Cabell Reference Desk T11 .S386 2006
Citing the Internet: Formats for Bibliographic Citation
CSE uses the recommendations of the National Library of Medicine
Features of Scientific style and format, 7th edition
Other Sources
Sciences: Documenting Sources (Research and Documentation Online by Diane Hacker)
Guidelines for documenting the most commonly used electronic and print sources. Provides examples of both the CSE number system and reference list. Also includes sample pages and information about manuscript format. [Based on the 6th edition]
Authoritative Source
The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th edition. Cabell Reference Desk Z253 .U69 2003
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations. 7th ed. Cabell Reference Desk LB2369 .T8 2007
Note: This manual, commonly referred to as Turabian, consists of the elements of Chicago style most suitable for the individual writer, students in particular.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Examples for using both humanities style (notes and bibliography) and author-date system.
The Chicago Manual of Style Q&A
Companion site to the print manual. Searchable database of questions on all aspects of Chicago style, not just citations.
Other Sources
History: Documenting Sources (Research and Documentation Online by Diane Hacker)
Guidelines for documenting the most commonly used electronic and print sources. Provides examples of both model notes and bibliography entries. Also includes a sample paper and information about manuscript format. [Humanities style only]
Cite Sources: Chicago Manual of Style Author-Date System
Similar to the Quick Guide above, but limited to just author-date examples.
Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications
Basic citation forms for a variety of government publications based on Chicago/Turabian style. Prepared by Government Publications Department, University of Memphis Libraries.
MLA: Modern Language Association Style
Authoritative Source
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th edition. Cabell Reference Desk LB2369 .G53 2003 [undergraduate students]
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. 3rd edition. Cabell Reference Desk PN147 .G444 2008 [graduate students, scholars, professional writers]
Frequently Asked Questions about the MLA Handbook
Frequently Asked Questions about the MLA Style Manual
Companion sites to the Handbook and Style Manual.
Other Sources
Humanities: Documenting Sources (Research and Documentation Online by Diane Hacker)
Guidelines for documenting the most commonly used electronic and print sources. Provides examples of both in-text citations and list of works cited. Also includes sample papers, how to use information notes, and information about manuscript format.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Online Writing Center - OWL at Purdue University)
Examples of papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the works cited page. Printable version via "Full Resource for Printing" link on the internal toolbar.
DocsCite
Step-by-step guide for citing government publications in MLA style. Select MLA from the dropdown menu and follow the directions.
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. 18th ed. Cabell Reference KF245 .B58 18th ed. 2005
Compiled by the editors of the Columbia Law Review, the Harvard Law Review, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, and The Yale Law Journal; "the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States."
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Focuses on
forms of citation used in professional practice. By Peter Martin, Cornell Law School. Part of LII/Legal Information Institute.
National Library of Medicine (NLM) Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation: Internet Resources
Supplement to the basic NLM publication; focuses on Internet documents.
United States Government Printing Office (USGPO) Style Manual
Primarily a GPO printer's stylebook, but often applied to grant applications, requests for proposals, and other government solicitations.
List of Style Manuals
List of authoritative sources for a variety of disciplines. From Research and Documentation Online by Diane Hacker.
Citation Tools
RefWorks
Powerful Web-based bibliographic management tool for VCU students, faculty, and staff. Export from a number of databases, or manually enter citation information. Assembles your entries in a variety of citation styles. Will also compile a bibliography. Organize your references into one or multiple folders.
Landmarks Son of Citation Machine (http://citationmachine.net/?g=3)
Use for "quick and dirty" citation generation. Enter citation information for print, electronic, or Web sources. The entered citation will be assembled in APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian style suitable for copying into your word processor.
Definitions
Glossary of Research Terms
Short definitions of words common to libraries and library research
ODLIS: Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
Definitions of more than 4,000 terms used in libraries. Many of the terms apply to academic research as well.
VCU Honor System - see "Violations of the VCU Honor System: Plagiarizing," Section III, Paragraph 2.
Writing with Integrity Workshop - VCU Libraries Blackboard course. Useful tips and examples in the "Writing Strategies" and "Plagiarism Prevention Tutorials" sections. Check VCU Library Events for scheduled offerings of the workshop.
Avoiding Plagiarism - Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). Be sure to look at Is It Plagiarism Yet? and Safe Practices.

