Comic Arts Resource Guide
Name: Cindy Jackson,
Archival Assistant for Comic and Digital Collections
Phone: (804) 828-1108
Email: hcjackson2@vcu.edu
What Is Comic Art?
Comic Art, also referred to as sequential art or graphic storytelling, is a form of visual art that combines images with text, most often in the form of a word balloon.
- Comic strip: A short sequence of drawings, usually telling a story. Most commonly found in newspapers and magazines.
- Comic book: A magazine or a book containing sequential art in the form of a narrative.
- Graphic novel: A long-form comic book, usually with lengthy
and complex storylines. Graphic novels can be either a
collection of previously published comic books, commonly referred to as trade paperbacks, or comics created and published
as a single narrative.
Where Can I Find Comic Art at VCU?
Comic Arts materials can be found in any number of locations throughout the Cabell Library, including Reference, Media and Reserves, Special Collections and Archives, and Cabell Stacks. Items searchable through the Libraries' catalog will display the item location before the call number, for example:
Cabell Library
PN6710 .E57 1996
Normal Loan
Cabell Library Special Collections and Archives
PN6710 .E57 1996
In Library Use
Items found in the Reference and Special Collections areas of the
library are non-circulating; however, photocopying is permitted. You
will need your RamBucks card or a vending card (available for purchase
on the first floor) for the copier. Scanning of Special Collection
items are made by arrangement. See a staff member for more details.
The Special Collections and Archives Website has links to a number of its holdings,
including links to the comic book list and the index of comic arts related journals.
The most up-to-date holdings information can be found in an internal finding
aid located in the SCA Reading Room.
Find Books and Journal Titles
- The best way to search the online catalog for items in the comic arts collection is by title, publisher or author.
- Keyword. Suggested keyword search terms include comic books, comic strips, cartoons, editorial comics, political comics, graphic novels, underground comix
- Subject. Library of Congress Subject Headings include comic books, comic strips, cartoons, caricature, superheroes
Recommended Journals
- Animation Magazine
No index available online. - Cartoonist Profiles
MSU has an index available online (incomplete). Easily found through a Google keyword search for "cartoonist profile index". - Comics Buyer's Guide
Index available at the CBG site. - The Comics Journal
There are several online indexes available through a Google keyword search for "Comics Journal index". - Heavy Metal Magazine
Michigan State University Library has an index available online (incomplete). - Mad Magazine (and related titles)
The Grand Comic Book Database has a cover gallery with detailed information about each indexed issued (still a work in progress). - Wizard Magazine
No index available online.
Cabell Library holdings are available for Animation Magazine and The Comics Journal via the VCU Libraries catalog. All other journal holdings are available through Special Collection's M. Thomas Inge Collection of Comic Arts Reference Periodicals or see a Special Collections staff member for more information.
Find Journal Articles
Access though the VCU Libraries home page under "databases (alphabetical)." Try the suggested keyword search items listed above in these databases:
- Books Review Digest Plus (1983-present): Citations for fiction and non-fiction books.
- Books in Print with Reviews: Global database of books currently published or distributed in the US, Canada, the UK, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.
- Essay and General Literature Index (1985-present): Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
- FirstSearch Databases: Over twenty different databases plus the WorldCat listing of library holdings across the country.
- Google Scholar: Scholarly literature crawled by Google.
- InfoTrac One File (1980-present): Full text, citations, and abstracts.
- JSTOR (1900s-present): Archived full-text articles from scholarly journals.
- PapersFirst (1993-present): Citations for papers presented at conferences.
Find Comic Books in Special Collections
Special Collections holds two comic book collections: the VCU Libraries' Comic Book Collection and the smaller William E. Blake Jr. Collection of 1940s Era True Life Comics.
Guidelines for using the comic book collection
- The most up-to-date list of what comics are available to patrons is found in a notebook in the Special Collections Reading Room.
- No more than five issues per request.
- The patron will need to supply the title, issue number and date for the items requested.
- If the comic is very old, fragile, or otherwise compromised, you may be asked to wear gloves.
- Photocoping and scanning is permissible if items are in good condition.
- Staff members will make copies of any old or fragile items.
Special guidelines for the Blake Collection of True Life Comics
- The list of materials available in this collection can be found in a notebook in the Special Collections Reading Room and on the Web
- No more than three issues per request.
- The patron will need to supply the title, issue number and date for the items requested.
- An online index to a number of these titles can be found at the Michigan State University Library Special Collections site.
- You must wear gloves to handle items in this collection.
- All photocopying and scanning of these items will be done by staff.
Find Comic Art Manuscript Collections
Special Collections and Archives houses a number of comic arts related manuscript collections. Finding aids are available through the Virginia Heritage Project (available via the databases on the Libraries' main site), the Special Collections website, or in the department.
Comic Arts related Manuscripts Collections housed in Special Collections
- Kubler Cartoon Collection
- Chick Larsen Papers
- Fred O. Seibel Papers
- Guy D. Mattox, Jr. Collection of Comic Art
- M. Thomas Inge Papers
- Billy DeBeck Collection
- Charles Henry "Bill" Sykes Editorial Cartoon Collection
- William E. Blake Collection of True Life 1940s Era Comics
- Comic Arts Miscellaneous Ephemera and Publications Collection
- David Anderson Collection of the 1960s Series "Batman" Set Design Paintings
- Chris Irving Papers
- Will Eisner Comic Book Industry Awards Collection
When working with manuscript collections, we please
ask that you use a pencil or laptop computer for note
taking. If copies are desired, please see a staff
member for assistance.
Food and drinks are not allowed in the Special
Collections Reading Room.
Recommended Reference Works
| Black Images in the Comics: a Visual History | NC1355 .S77 |
| Black Superheroes, Milestone Comics and Their Fans | PN6725 .B76 2001 |
| Children of the Yellow Kid: the Evolution of the American Comic Strip | PN6725 .H38 1998 |
| The Classic Era of American Comics | PN6725 .W75 2000 |
| Comics as Culture | PN6725 I54 1990 |
| Comics at War | PN6736 C6 1988 |
| Comics Before 1945 | PN6725 .W23 2004 |
| Comics Since 1945 | PN6725 .W223 2002 |
| DC Comics: Sixty Years of the World's Favorite Comic Book Heroes | PN6725 .D194 1995 |
| Graphic Storytelling | PN6710 .E57 1996 |
| The Great Women Superheroes | PN6725 .R59 1996 |
| Marvel: Five Fabulous Decades of the World's Greatest Comics | PN6725 .D195 1991 |
| Men of Tomorrow : Geeks, Gangsters, and the Birth of the Comic Book | PN6725 .J664 2004 |
| Rebel Visions : The Underground Comix Revolution | PN6725 .R67 2002 |
| Seal of Approval: The History of the Comics Code | PN6725 .N953 1998 |
| Superhero Comics of the Golden Age: the Illustrated History | PN6725 .B384 1992 |
| Understanding Comics | PN6710 .M335 1994 |
| Women and the Comics | PN6710 R6 1985 |
| Women in the Comics | PN6725 H6 |
Comic Research Libraries
- Brown Popular Culture Library @ Bowling Green State University
- Caroline and Erwin Swann Collection of Caricature and Cartoon
- Cartoon Research Library @ Ohio State University
- New York City Public Library
- Russel B. Nye Collection @ Michigan State University
Comics and Animation Related Journals
Comic Museums
- Cartoon Art Museum, San Francisco
- Charles Schulz Museum
- Jack Kirby Museum
- Museum of Comic and Cartoon Art
- The National Cartoon Museum
Other Comic Related Sites
- 1954 Comics Code Authority
- Animation World Network
- Citing Comics in Scholarly Writings
- Comic Book Annotations and Bibliographies
- Comic Book Legal Defense Fund
- Comic Book Resources
- Comic Scholarship Annotated Bibliographies
- Comic Scholar's Discussion List
- Friends of Lulu
- Grand Comic Book Database Project
- The Museum of Black Superheroes
- Manga et cetera
- New Yorker Cartoon Bank
- Political Cartoons