Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness Resource Guide
To check the catalog for reference materials, choose the Advanced Search option and change the Location drop-down menu to Cabell Reference. You can also browse the "J" and "U" call number sections of the government documents print collection on the first floor. J is the class for Political Science. JK, the subclass for United States political institutions and public administration, may be particularly relevant. U is the class for Military Science.
The United States Government Internet Manual
Cabell Library Reference Desk ZA5075 .N68
Chapter 5, Defense and Intelligence provides descriptions of over 100 Web sites, from FCC Homeland Security to Defense Intelligence Agency
Homeland Security: A Documentary History
Cabell Library Reference UA927 .H657 2004
Researching National Security and Intelligence Policy
Cabell Library Reference UA23 .C5135 2004
Encyclopedia of the Central Intelligence Agency
Cabell Library Reference UB251.U5 S63 2000
Dictionary of the United States Intelligence Services: Over 1500 Terms, Programs, and Agencies
Cabell Library Reference JK468.I6 W47 1996
Public Administration Series: Bibliography
Cabell Library Reference Z7164.A2
Go to the VCU Libraries Catalog, select the Journals tab and type in the title of the journal. In one step you will see if the journal is available in print or online, with a link to the online version.
American Criminal Law Review |
International Security (MIT) |
Free Journals - some require registration - please read privacy statements closely
- Homeland Defense Journal - from Market*Access International an information technology consulting company.
- Journal of Homeland Security - from ANSER, a not-for-profit, public sector research institute.
- Homeland Security Affairs - from the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense & Security (CHDS).
- Contingency Planning and Management - from CPM group, addresses business continuity, security, and emergency management.
- Disaster Recovery Journal - a quarterly trade publication dedicated to the field of disaster recovery and business continuity.
- Information Security - a guide for security managers and executives charged with protecting information assets and reducing risk.
Use the Databases by Subject link on the VCU Libraries Web page and select Government, Law, Politics for a list of relevant databases and research guides. Other database categories, such as Data / Statistics and Social Sciences may be useful as well.
VCU Available on both campuses OR off-campus with EzProxy
CQ Library VCU (1983 - present)
Full-text articles from the Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report (1983 - present) and the CQ Researcher (1991 - present).
Criminal Justice Abstracts VCU (1968 - present)
Citations and abstracts of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminology and related subjects.
Government Printing Office (GPO) Monthly Catalog VCU (1976 - present)
Citations for publications of the U.S. government. Includes legislative materials and the vast array of publications from the executive branch agencies.
Homeland Security Digital Library VCU (18th Century - present)
The HSDL is the nation's most authoritative tool for research in the field of homeland security policy and strategy.
Index to Current Urban Documents (ICUD) VCU (Volume 29 - present)
Index to and full-text of reports and research generated by various governmental and civic entities in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada.
TIP: Choose the Select a Topic option to limit your search to "Emergency Planning," or any number of other topics.
LexisNexis Congressional VCU
Comprehensive US legislative information from Congressional Information Service (CIS). Varying dates of coverage. CIS Index covers 1970-present.
LexisNexis Government Periodicals Index VCU (1988 - present)
Citations for articles on a variety of topics published in US Government magazines/newsletters. Some of these are available online through the Government Periodicals on the Web link.
PAIS International VCU (1915 - present)
Abstracts from the international literature on public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
Includes PAIS Archive, 1915-1976.
Conference Papers and Proceedings
PapersFirst VCU (1993 - present)
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library.
Proceedings VCU (1993 - present)
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
Sponsored Research and Grey Literature
NTIS Database VCU
Covers the latest research reports sponsored by the United States. A title search using the keyword: terrorism returns results addressing transnational terrorism, interagency cooperation, the cost of the war in Iraq. Some of these reports will be available at VCU.
GrayLit Network
Provides access to reports, documents, books and other items which do not usually get covered by major research (bibliographic) databases. Searching covers documents from Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Technical Reports Collection. This full-text collection provides access to unclassified, unlimited documents covering defense research and basic sciences including biological and medical sciences; environmental pollution and control; behavioral and social sciences. Also searched are EPA, NASA and DOE reports.
US Department of Homeland Security
The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) was established by the Homeland Security Act of 2002, (6 U.S.C. 101 note). Pursuant to this legislation, the Department came into existence on January 24, 2003, and is administered under the supervision and direction of the Secretary of Homeland Security. DHS consolidates functions from 22 agencies under one vast umbrella with a single critical mission of protecting the United States using state-of-the-art intelligence information. (Source: United States Government Manual, 2003-2004).
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
The Federal Emergency Management Agency - a former independent agency that became part of the new Department of Homeland Security in March 2003 - is tasked with responding to, planning for, recovering from and mitigating against disasters. (Source: http://www.fema.gov/about/history.shtm, viewed 10/7/05).
Office for Domestic Preparedness
The Office for Domestic Preparedness (ODP) is a component of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of State and Local Government Coordination and Preparedness (SLGCP). SLGCP is the federal government's lead agency responsible for preparing the nation against terrorism by assisting states, local and tribal jurisdictions, and regional authorities as they prevent, deter, and respond to terrorist acts. (Source: ODP homepage, viewed 10/7/05).
Department of Defense
The Department of Defense is responsible for providing the military forces needed to deter war and protect the security of our country. The major elements of these forces are the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Air Force. They are backed, in case of emergency, by members of the Reserve and National Guard.
National Security Council
The National Security Council was established by the National Security Act of 1947, as amended (50 U.S.C. 402). The Council was placed in the Executive Office of the President by Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949 (5 U.S.C. app). The Council advises and assists the President in integrating all aspects of the national security policy as it affects the United States - domestic, foreign, military, intelligence, and economic - in conjunction with the National Economic Council. (Source: United States Government Manual, 2003-2004).
Centers for Research and Education
Homeland Security and Terrorism Prevention
- Center for Nonproliferation Studies: Monterey Institute of International Studies
- Homeland Security Institute (HSI): Online journal from HSI Journal of Homeland Security
- National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism (MIPT)
- RAND Corporation
- The Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security [CHDS]
- Online Journal from CHDS Homeland Security Affairs
- University of Maryland Center for Excellence for Behavioral and Social Research on Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism
First Responders
- First Responders (MIPT)
- Emergency Management Institute (FEMA)
- Training and Resource Center for Law Enforcement
Terrorism: Attacks and Responses -- Vanderbilt University
Terrorism Homeland Defense and Security -- Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School
Terrorism: A Research Guide -- Western Libraries at Western Washington University