Search


  Management Resource Guide

Librarian
Name: Bettina Peacemaker
Phone: (804) 828-8960
Email: bjpeacemaker@vcu.edu

Articles and Databases

You can search the following selected databases for management-related articles. For additional databases, see the list of all business databases. You may also be interested in other business-related guides including the company and marketing guides.

Many of the databases listed below include at least some full text articles, but very few databases are 100% full text. Look for the get it @ vcu button or try the E-Journal Search.

ABI/Inform VCU only
Accounting, business, finance, international business, marketing, and management journals from 1971 to the present.

Business Source Complete VCU
Bibliographic and full text content from scholarly business journals and other sources including peer-reviewed business publications. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.

Conference Board Research Online Collection VCU
The Conference Board's online research collection.

EconLit VCU
The American Economics Association's bibliography of economic literature. Coverage includes journals, books, and dissertations.

Dow Jones Factiva VCU
Articles from over 9,000 newswires, newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, press releases and trade publications. Contains selected full-text of most sources. Titles relevant to management include Business Communication Quarterly, Financial Management, Human Relations, and Personnel Psychology. Also includes company and market information.

LexisNexis Academic VCU
Business, industry, and market news from thousands of publications from around the world. Also contains company and legal research.

PAIS International VCU
Covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.

PsycINFO VCU
Scholarly psychology material including empirical research and peer reviewed journal articles from 1887 to the present. Covers psychological aspects of business and management including human resource management, organizational behavior, and consumer research.

Science Direct VCU
Science, arts and humanities, social science, business, engineering and technology, mathematics, medicine, and psychology journals including Business Horizons, Journal of Management, Journal of International Management, and Journal of World Business.

Social Sciences Citation Index VCU
Database of references cited in articles from more than 1,725 major journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.

return to top

Books

For an overview of management-related topics, you can consult the following reference books:

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
Cabell Library Reference HD30.15 .B455

Encyclopedia of Management
Cabell Library Reference HD30.15 .E49

Oxford Reference Online VCU
Provides access to more than 140 dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press including a Dictionary of Accounting, Dictionary of Business, Dictionary of Economics, Dictionary of Finance and Banking, Dictionary of Human Resource Management, and the Handbook of International Financial Terms.

You can search the library catalog for additional books, including electronic books, related to management research. You can access the library catalog from the main VCU Libraries Web page at http://www.library.vcu.edu/ by clicking on the Catalog tab (near the top of the screen) and then clicking on the VCU Library Catalog link.

You can conduct a Words Anywhere or Words in Subject search using some of the following management-related subject terms:

  • Management
  • Communication in management
  • Conflict management
  • Crisis management
  • Industrial management
  • Organizational behavior
  • Personnel management
  • Risk management

While the terms listed above may help you get started, you will probably need to include more specific terms based on your topic. Try a quick search and look for the most relevant subject terms and keywords to help you narrow your search.

If you want to browse by call number, you can try some of the following ranges

  • HD 28 - 70 Management/Industrial Management
  • HD 4801 - 8943 Labor/Work/Working class

If you need help developing a search strategy, Ask a Librarian.

return to top

Web Resources

The following resources will help you with management research. Please note that the list is selective. For more resources, try a source like @Brint. When using the Web for research, remember to evaluate your sources.

Bplans.com
http://www.bplans.com/sp/
Sample business and marketing plans for small and medium-sized businesses. For additional information about business plans, try the Business Plans Handbook (Cabell Library Reference HD62.7.B865) or a search in the catalog using business planning.

Department of Labor
http://www.dol.gov/
Information about the U.S. Department of Labor's services, agencies, laws, regulations, and publications. Includes a link to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, containing statistical information on such topics as consumer spending, wages, earnings, benefits, productivity, international economic conditions, and employment, with links to publications including Monthly Labor Review Online and the Occupational Outlook Handbook.

JobStar Salary Surveys
http://jobstar.org/tools/salary/sal-surv.php
Compilation of hundreds of salary surveys available online.

Knowledge @ Wharton
http://knowledge.wharton.upenn.edu/
Analysis of current business trends, interviews with industry leaders and Wharton faculty, articles, book reviews, conference and seminar reports, and links to other Web sites. Links to topic areas including strategic management, human resources, business ethics, and operations management.

Small Business Administration
http://www.sba.gov/
Resources for business people, including information aimed at persons starting, financing or expanding businesses and at specific groups, including women, minorities and veterans.

return to top

Associations

In addition to the web resources listed above, many management-related associations have Web sites. Certain areas may be restricted for members only, but they can still offer valuable resources. The following is a selective list.

Academy of Management
http://www.aomonline.org/

American Management Association
http://www.amanet.org/index.htm

Institute of Management and Administration (IOMA)
http://www.ioma.com/

return to top