Search


  Marketing Resource Guide

Librarian
Name: Bettina Peacemaker
Phone: (804) 828-8960
Email:  bjeacemaker@vcu.edu

Articles and Databases

You can search the following selected databases for marketing-related articles. For additional databases, see the list of all business databases. You may also be interested in other business-related guides including the company and management guides.

Many of the databases listed below include at least some full text articles, but very few databases are 100% full text. Look for the get it @ vcu button or try the E-Journal Search to find full text articles.

ABI/INFORM VCU
Accounting, business, finance, international business, marketing, and management journals from 1971 to the present.

Business Source Complete VCU
Bibliographic and full text content from scholarly business journals and other sources including peer-reviewed business publications. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.

Dow Jones Factiva VCU
Comprehensive, full text up-to-the-minute news and business source from Dow Jones and Reuters. Indexes and abstracts more than 8,000 newswires, newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications. Contains selected full-text of most sources. Titles relevant to marketing include Advertising Age, ADWEEK, Brandweek, Journal of Advertising Research, Journal of Advertising, Journal of International Marketing, Marketing, and Target Marketing.

LexisNexis Academic VCU
Business, industry, and market news from thousands of publications from around the world. Also contains company and legal research.

LexisNexis Statistical VCU
Abstracts for statistical publications from 1973 forward; full-text of selected publications, 1995+. Power Tables feature searches words appearing in statistical tables. Includes statistics from government sources, as well as major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. For items with a SRI record number, check the Statistical Reference Index (SRI) microfiche collection.

Mediamark Reporter Cabell
MRI surveys annually more than 20,000 consumers throughout the continental United States and compiles comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage, and media data. Their Web site http://www.mediamark.com/ contains some free data, including information about magazine and cable television audiences and a demographic profile of Internet users. Cabell Library also has copies of Mediamark Research reports (1996) in the Reference section (Cabell Library Reference HF5415.3.M463).

Mintel VCU
Full-text market research reports covering US and global consumer markets. Reports analyze market share, segmentation, and trends. Upon first login register with your VCU email address.

PsycInfo VCU
Citations and abstracts for scholarly psychology material including empirical research and peer reviewed journal articles from 1887 to the present. Includes articles on consumer attitudes and behavior (use consumer behavior and consumer attitudes as keywords).

Social Sciences Citation Index VCU
Indexes journal articles and citations from over 1,400 international social science journals. Cabell Library also has the print subscription from 1966 - present. Location: Cabell Reference H1 .Z997

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage VCU
Financial and investment database providing information for corporate research and for industry, competitive, and investment analysis. Includes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports, among others.

return to top

Books

For an overview of marketing-related topics, you can consult the following reference books:

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Cabell Library Reference HF5803.A38

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing (netLibrary VCU)
Cabell Library Reference HD30.15 .B53

Dictionary of Marketing Communications
Cabell Library Reference HF5412.G68

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
Cabell Library Reference HF5837.E53

Marketing Information: A Strategic Guide for Business and Finance Libraries
Cabell Library Reference HF5415.2.D49

You can search the library catalog for additional books, including electronic books, related to marketing. You can access the library catalog from the main VCU Libraries Web page at http://www.library.vcu.edu by clicking on the Catalog tab (near the top of the screen) and then clicking on the VCU Library Catalog link.

You can conduct a Words Anywhere or Words in Subject search using some of the following marketing-related subject terms:

  • Marketing
  • Relationship marketing
  • Social marketing
  • Communication in marketing
  • Internet marketing
  • Marketing research

While the terms listed above may help you get started, you will probably need to include more specific terms based on your topic. Try a quick search and look for the most relevant subject terms and keywords to help you narrow your search.

To search for materials from other libraries, use WorldCat VCU only or check the catalogs of other Virginia libraries. You can try Interlibrary Loan to obtain materials that VCU Libraries does not own.

If you need help developing a search strategy, Ask a Librarian.

return to top

Web Resources

The following resources will help you with marketing research. Please note that the list is selective. For more Web resources, you can search some of the sources listed below. When using the Web for research, remember to evaluate your sources.

Advertising Age
http://www.adage.com
The online version of Advertising Age including some free content including daily news summaries. You can find the full text in Dow Jones Factiva VCU.

Communication Arts
http://www.commarts.com/
Web site for Communication Arts, the world's largest magazine on creativity for graphic designers, art directors, copywriters, photographers, illustrators and multimedia designers.

Industry Research Desk
http://www.virtualpet.com/industry/rdindex2.htm
Provides links to industry-specific web sites, broad industry data sources, and sites dealing with manufacturing processes. It offers a 13-step guide to performing industry research using print and online resources.

KnowThis
http://www.knowthis.com/
Resources for over 135 marketing categories selected by Paul Christ, Ph.D.

Nielsen Media Research
http://www.nielsenmedia.com/
Contains summaries of market intelligence reports prepared by Nielsen Media Research's Interactive Services division, which develops audience measurements and custom research on new media, including the Internet.

U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/
Official source for social, demographic and economic statistics.

Web Marketing Info Center
http://www.wilsonweb.com/webmarket/
Links to hundreds of online articles about effective Web marketing and to online resources for businesses. Browse by subject or search by keyword.

return to top

Associations

In addition to the web resources listed above, many management-related associations have Web sites. Certain areas may be restricted for members only, but they can still offer valuable resources. The following is a selective list.

American Association of Advertising Agencies
http://www.aaaa.org/

American Marketing Association
http://www.marketingpower.com/

The Direct Marketing Association
http://www.the-dma.org/

Marketing Research Association (MRA)
http://www.mra-net.org/

Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
http://www.prsa.org/

return to top