Physics Resource Guide
Items on this page with the following labels are only available in certain areas:
| VCU | Available on both campuses OR from home with proper setup. |
| Libraries | Available only on computers within either of the VCU Libraries (Cabell or Tompkins-McCaw). |
| Cabell | Available only on computers within Cabell Library (Academic Campus). |
Also see Help for off campus users for more information on remote access.
- Applied
Science & Technology Abstracts VCU
This database covers physics plus engineering, mathematics, and computer technology. Articles, interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, new product reviews/announcements are indexed. - Current Contents Connect VCU
A current awareness database which can be browsed or searched for recently published articles in physics and other sciences. Bibliographic records contain abstracts. - INSPEC VCU
The premier database for physicists. INSPEC covers physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computers, telecommunications, control technology, and information technology. - MathSciNet VCU
MathSciNet provides searchable, full text access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. - NTIS Bibliographic
Database VCU
This database contains bibliographic citations and summaries of information products, including technical reports, software packages, and data files. The National Technical Information Service is the central source for the public sale of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. - Web of Science VCU
Use the Science Citation Index Expanded to do cited reference searching in the subject area of physics. The related records feature allows one to locate additional references which share at least one reference in common.
- Browse the journal titles from a particular publisher or vendor
- Search individual titles from the Catalog or Online Journal Search.
- AstroWeb
A classified list of astronomy and astrophysics resources related to observation, data, publications, people, organizations, software, astronomy research, and imagery. The site also has a search engine. - Atomic Physics
on the Internet
An extensive list of atomic physics servers from around the world. The site also has links to conference information, databases, job information, and a who's who. - Beam
Physics and Accelerator Technology
A WWW virtual library site with links to information about accelerator laboratories around the world, virtual libraries, funding opportunities, news items, reference material, and companies and their products. - Condensed
matter around the world
A list of links to laboratories worldwide conducting research in the area of condensed matter physics. - Conversion
of Units
An excellent resource for converting units from one form to another. - Contributions of 20th
Century
Women to Physics
This site provides citations to 20th century women who made significant contributions to physics in areas such as crystallography, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nuclear physics, and condensed matter physics. - EINET
Physics
A directory to physics in general and eight specific areas: acoustics, classical dynamics, fluid dynamics, nuclear and particle physics, optics and photonics, plasma physics, quantum mechanics, and thermodynamics. Links in specific subject areas are organized by organizations, collections, directories, and discussion groups. - General Relativity
around the World
This site provides links to relativity sites from around the world, plus links to the Matter of Gravity Newsletter, and to software sites. - HEPIC - High Energy Physics Information
Center
An information server for those doing research in high energy physics. - High Energy Physics
Web
Sites
(CERN)
A list of links to high energy physics web sites around the world. Also contains links to conference information, a software guide, and newsletters. - The Internet Pilot to Physics
(TIPTOP)
An international collaboration to make efficient use of information technology and the WWW for physics research and education. The Physics Calendar provides information about jobs, news flashes, and conference dates. The Physics Forum has a market place for buying and selling instruments, reviews of physics books, a physics chat room, and a student forum. - Laws List
This web site started as a list of laws from physics and astronomy, it then included rules and principles and finally grew into a minidictionary of physics and astronomy terms. - NASA Astrophysics Data System
An outstanding resource for astrophysical data. This site has an abstract service, an article service, a virtual library, links to astronomical catalogs, and data archives. The abstract service covers astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and the Los Alamos preprint server. The article service provides access to scanned images of journal articles, conference proceedings, and tables of contents. The virtual library provides access to a limited number of scanned books such as the Handbook of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics. - The Net Advance
of Physics
Review articles and tutorials in many areas of physics can be accessed through an alphabetical or hierarchical index. This site also has a history of science page and a page of physics-related sites. - NIST Reference on Constants,
Units, and Uncertainty
An excellent resource for fundamental physical constants, international system of units, and uncertainty of measurement results. The site also provides background information, history, and bibliographies related to constants, units, and uncertainty. - Physical
Reference Data
(NIST)
Provides links to physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, ionization data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear data, and condensed matter data. - Physics Web: web links
An excellent subject directory produced by the Institute of Physics. Major topics covered are educational, media, companies, institutions and organizations, reference, computing, and exhibitions and museums. - Plasma on
the Internet
An exhaustive list of plasma servers from around the world. Also includes a Who's Who in atomic physics and plasma physics, plasma physics preprints, and a plasma chemistry research directory. - Research and Innovation
in Physics Education
Created by the Physics Department at the University of Maryland to explore innovative methods for teaching physics. It includes links to informations about physics demonstrations and uses of computers in physics education. - SciCentral
(Physical and Chemical Sciences)
A specialty gateway leads to links to subject specific areas within physics such as astrophysics and general relativity, atomic and plasma physics, high energy and particle physics, and superconductivity. There are also links to career resources, funding resources, and educational material. - SPIE's Gateway to Photonics
The WWW Virtual Library for Optical Science & Engineering with links to societies and professional resources, universities and industry, national laboratories, and government organizations. - SPIN Database
(Searchable Physics Information Notices)
Provides current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals. SPIN contains abstracts from more than 80 journals published by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies as well as selected articles from other scientific journals. - Tables and Tools
(Martindale's Reference Desk)
Links to many resources of interest to physicists, such as measurement, fundamental particles, atomic spectroscopic data, electronic structure calculations, and nuclear structure. - Virtual
Physics Center
(Martindale's Reference Desk)
A large and well-organized directory of physics information. There are links to resources in measurement, periodic tables, and more specialized data, such as atomic scattering, fission, ion beam analysis, and X-ray interactions with matter.
- CERN
- Chemical Physics Preprint Database (Brown University and LANL)
- Fermilab
- HEPDOC
- LANL (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
- SLAC
- American Astronomical Society
- American Crystallographic Association
- American Geophysical Union
- American Institute of Physics
- American Physical Society
- American Vacuum Society
- Biophysical Society
- European Physical Society
- Institute of Physics
- International Union of Pure and Applied Physics
- Materials Research Society
- Optical Society of America
- Physical Society of Japan