Search


  Sculpture Resource Guide

Librarian
Name: Kristina Keogh
Phone:(804) 828-6339
Email: keoghkm@vcu.edu

Books

Check the Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to determine what books, journals and audiovisual materials the Libraries own and where they are located. 

  • General searching: When you are looking for books on a topic do a Words Anywhere search first. 
    example: sculpture.
  • Exhibition Catalogs: To locate exhibition catalogs in Cabell, simply use an Art Exhibition Catalog Search. (From the catalog, click "Advanced Search" then choose "Exhibition Catalog" in the "Format" box.)
  • E-Books: VCU Libraries provides access to a collection of electronic books through NetLibrary VCU only . (From the home page, click "Quick Links," and choose "E-Books.") NetLibrary is a collection of electronic books from leading university, trade and professional publishers available via the Internet 24 hours a day. For full access, VCU faculty, students and staff must first create free individual user accounts. More about NetLibrary.
  • Browsing the shelves: 
    Books are filed using the Library of Congress system which group books into subject areas. Some of the broad Sculpture categories begin with the following letters: 
    • N - Visual Arts
    • NB - Sculpture
    • NX - Arts - General
  • Where do I find things? Check out where things are in the Cabell Library.
  • Do other libraries have what you need?
    • Interlibrary Loan: VCU Libraries will get the items that you need if they are not in the collections. You do not need to identify which library has the required item - we'll do that for you. See what you need to do. To search for materials in other libraries, use the Worldcat VCU database or check the catalogs of other Virginia Libraries.

      return to top

selected Reference Resources

Biographical Sources

  • British Sculptors of the Twentieth Century. Cabell Library Reference NB 468 .B66 2003
  • Contemporary American Women Sculptors. Cabell Library Reference NB 212 .W37 1986
  • Dictionary of American Sculptors: 18th century to the present. Cabell Library Reference NB 236 .O64 1984

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Encyclopedia of Sculpture. Cabell Library Reference NB 198 .E53 2004
  • Looking at European Sculpture: A Guide to Technical Terms. Cabell Library NB 50 .B37 1997
  • Looking at Greek and Roman Sculpture in Stone: A Guide to Terms Styles and Techniques. Cabell Library Reference NB 85 .G76 2003
  • New Dictionary of Modern Sculpture. Cabell Library Reference NB 50 .N6813

Guides

  • A Guide to the Sculpture Parks and Gardens of America. Cabell Library NB 205 .M33 1996
  • Save Outdoor Sculpture! A Guide to Sculpture in Virginia. Cabell Library Government Documents VaDoc HR 6/Scu 7

Materials and Methods

  • Living Materials: A Sculptor's Handbook. Cabell Library NB 1170 .A63 1983
  • The Process of Sculpture. Cabell Library NB 1170 .P25
  • Sculpture: Technique, Form, Content. Cabell Library NB 1140 .W55 1995
  • Structure in Sculpture. Cabell Library NB 1170 .S35 1993.

return to top

journals

Journal Finder

E-Journal Search

This will let you know whether an electronic version of a journal is available from VCU. Links to journals are provided. Note: the search box only searches for the names of journals, not the subject content - use one of the research databases for this.

Alternative : Go to the VCU Libraries Catalog, select journal title search, type in the title of the journal.

Selected Journals

return to top

Research Databases

Most of these databases feature the "Get it @VCU" tab - SFX. This service provides hyperlinks to a variety of options such as the electronic full-text (if available), the VCU library catalog, ILLiad, and Ask-a-Librarian.

ARTbibliographies Modern VCU (1974 - present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Art Index VCU (1984 - present) AND Art Index Retrospective VCU (1929 - 1984)
Citations to articles from periodicals published throughout the world including yearbooks and museum bulletins. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Retrospective is an electronic version of Art Index, volumes 1-32, and contains all citations found in the print version. (Tip: to search for images or illustrations, use a keyword search including "AND illustration" or "AND (illustration OR reproduction)" along with your topic terms or artist's name.)

Arts and Humanities Citation Index via ISI Web of Science VCU (1975 - present)
Database of references cited in articles from 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Search by cited reference, topic, and author. Web of Science Tutorial

ARTstor VCU
Curated collections of digital art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to enter. Uses cookies and pop-ups.

BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art VCU (1973 - present)
Citations and abstracts of books, conference proceedings, dissertations, catalogs, and journal articles. Covers European and American art from antiquity to the present.

Design and Applied Arts Index  VCU (1973 - present)
The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world.

Grove Art Online VCU
Searchable access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001) with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links.

Complete list of all Arts databases

return to top

Searching the Web

General

ArtMetal (http://www.artmetal.com/)

A social networking site and general resource for those working in metal sculpture.

Ceramics Today (http://www.ceramicstoday.com/)

A comprehensive independent ceramics site.  Includes links, articles, and a rotating gallery.

Ceramics Web (http://ceramics.sdsu.edu/)

Includes links to ceramics related resources, including recipes.

Sculptor.org (http://www.sculptor.org/)

A comprehensive resource for sculptors, including a job list (http://www.sculptor.org/Jobs/).

Organizations

American Art Alliance (http://www.americanartsalliance.org/americanartsalliance/aaa_home_page.html)

American Art Pottery Association (http://www.aapa.info/)

National Sculpture Society (http://www.nationalsculpture.org/nss/default.asp)

Washington DC Sculptors Group (http://www.washingtonsculptors.org/)

 

 

return to top