Sociology and Anthropology Resource Guide
Librarians
Name: John Glover
Phone: (804) 828-6555
Email: jglover2@vcu.edu
Name: Laura Westmoreland
Phone: (804) 828-8562
Email: lwestmorelan@vcu.edu
introduction
This guide provides an overview of tools that can be used for research in Sociology and Anthropology. Included is information about relevant library research databases, journal holdings, reference materials, government resources, statistics and major Internet resources. All collections marked VCU are available to users on both campuses OR off-campus with EZProxy.
You can search the following selected databases for sociology-related articles. For additional databases, see the list of all social sciences databases. You may also be interested in other related guides including education, social work, government information, and criminal justice.
Many of the databases listed below include at least some full text
articles, but very few databases are 100% full text. Look for the
button.
This service provides hyperlinks to a variety of options such as linking
to electronic full-text (if available), the VCU library catalog (if
we have the journal in print), ILLiad (if we don't have it in the
collection), and Ask-a-Librarian (for help).
MAJOR DATABASES
Sociological
Abstracts (1963 - Present) VCU
Over 2,000 journals in 30 different languages are checked for inclusion
in this index in the fields of sociology, social work, and other
social sciences. Covers 1963 to the present. For older articles,
see The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Sociology
(C.R.I.S) (Cabell Library Reference HM1.A11 C75), covering sociological
literature from 1895 - 1974.
Anthrosource VCU
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars, including: Current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly, an electronic archive of all AAA journals, and seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications.
Human Relations Area Files: eHRAF World Cultures VCU
Primary full-text source material in anthropology, archaeology, and sociology.
The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
OTHER POSSIBILITIES
Abstracts in Anthropology Online (1970 - Previous Year) VCU
Updated twice a year, this online journal provides access to severl thousand abstracts from the field of anthropology and its subfields (cultural, physical, archeology, and linguistics). Fully indexed by subject and author, this resource is fairly simple to search. Please note that Get it @ VCU is not accessible in this database. You will need to compile a list of citations and use the Journal Citation tool to determine what your options are for accessing full text.
Academic Search Complete (1887 - Present) VCU
Comprehensive scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database. Includes over 5,500 full-text periodicals and indexing/abstracting for over 9,500 journals. Covers science, social sciences, mathematics, engineering, and many other subjects.
AGELINE (1978
- Present) VCU
Covers social gerontology, including the study of aging in psychological,
health-related, social, and economic contexts.
Anthropological Index Online (1957 - Present)
Citations to articles found in the periodicals collection of The Anthropology Library at the British Museum. Note that you cannot link to full text online. You must take the citation and then use our Journal Finder to find out what your options are for obtaining full text.
Contemporary
Women's Issues (1992 - Present) VCU
Global information on women from journals, newsletters and research
reports.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (1968 - Present) VCU
Citations and abstracts of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice. You may also want to search Criminal Justice Periodical Index (Cabell Library Reference Z5118.C9 C74) covering 1975 - 1998 and Criminology, Penology and Police Science Abstracts (Cabell Library Reference HV6001.E9) covering 1980 - 1997.
Dissertations
Abstracts Online (1861 - Present) VCU
Abstracts of dissertations completed in the U.S. and abroad. See finding
dissertations for additional help.
Ethnic
NewsWatch VCU
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, native
and minority press.
GenderWatch (1980
- Present) VCU
Database of publications from both historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes coverage of (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women’s studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach.
Inter-university
Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) VCU
The world's largest archive of social science data, ICPSR archives
survey data on a variety of topics and populations. Codebooks often
include full text of survey questions and response frequencies.
View more
information and search help.
JSTOR VCU
Searchable backfiles of core journals in the humanities, social
sciences and sciences. Includes the American Journal of Sociology,
American Sociological Review, Annual Review of Sociology, Contemporary
Sociology, Journal of Black Studies, Journal of Health and Social
Behavior, Public Opinion Quarterly, Social Psychology Quarterly,
and Sociology of Education.
LexisNexis
Academic VCU
Contains federal and state court decisions, statutes
and regulations, legal publications as well as the
full text of national and regional newspapers and magazines.
PAIS (1915
- Present) VCU
Covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international
relations.
PsycINFO (1887
- Present) VCU
Scholarly psychology material including empirical research and peer
reviewed journal articles from 1887 to the present.
Social
Sciences Citation Index (1965 - Present) VCU
Database of references cited in articles from more than 1,725 major
journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.
Social
Sciences Index (1983 - Present) VCU
Citations to articles of at least one column in length from English-language
periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary
fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
If you need help developing a search strategy, Ask
a Librarian.
You can access the library catalog from the main VCU Libraries Web page at http://www.library.vcu.edu by clicking on the Search the Catalog link under the Find Information heading.
General Searching: When you are looking for books on a topic you may conduct a Words Anywhere search first; for example: urban policy. If you are concerned that you are getting too many irrelevant results, you may opt to conduct a subject search.
E-Books: VCU Libraries provides access to a large and varied collection of electronic books. These collections are searchable via the catalog (see e-Resources tab) or via their individual collection sites on the Internet. These books are available via the Internet 24 hours a day.
Browsing the Shelves: The VCU Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system for cataloging and shelving. If you would like to browse, see the Library of Congress Classification Outline for Social Sciences (this is a PDF document - see section HM for Sociology) or the Library of Congress Classification Outline for Geography, Anthropology, and Recreation (this is a PDF document - see section GN for Anthropology) to see how you can locate books by LC Call number.
"Where do I find things?": Check out where things are in the Cabell Library.
Borrowing from Other Libraries: VCU Libraries will get items you need (books, articles, and other media) if they are not in the VCU Libraries collection via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). To search for materials in other libraries, use the Worldcat VCU or check the catalogs of other Virginia Libraries.
If you need help developing a search strategy or with ILL, Ask a Librarian.
For an overview of sociology-related topics, you can consult the following reference books:
- The
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological
Language (netLibrary VCU)
Cabell Library Reference HM425.J64 - Dictionary of Sociology
Cabell Library Reference HM17.C66 - Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Cabell Library Reference HM425.E47 - Encyclopedia of Sociology
Cabell Library Reference HM17.E5 - Oxford
Reference Online VCU
Provides access to more than 140 dictionaries and reference works published by Oxford University Press including the Dictionary of the Social Sciences and Dictionary of Sociology. - Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Cabell Library Reference Z7164.S68 A24
For an overview of anthropology related-topics, you can consult the following reference books:
- Cultural Anthropology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Cabell Library Reference GN42 .J33 - Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology
Cabell Library Reference GN307 .W56 - Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology
Cabell Library Reference GN50.3 .S74 - Encyclopedia of Anthropology (5 Volumes)
Cabell Library Reference GN11 .E63 - Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology (netLibrary VCU)
Cabell Library Reference GN307.E525 - Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies
Cabell Library Reference Z5111 .W47
Journal Finder
You can search here to find out if the VCU Libraries have a print and/or electronic version of a particular journal available.
If an electronic version is available, you can click on the link from the catalog and then browse available issues
or look up a specific citation. To find a specific citation you will need the year, volume, issue,
and starting page number.
Note: the search box only searches for the names of journals, not the
subject content - use one of the research
databases for this.
Select Journals
- American Anthropologist VCU
Print and Electronic Holdings, 1888 (v. 1) - Present - American Ethnologist VCU
Print and Electronic Holdings, 1971 (v. 1) - Present - American
Sociological Review VCU
Print and Electronic Holdings, 1936 (v. 1) - Present - Social Anthropology VCU
- Social
Forces VCU
Print and Electronic Holdings, 1922/23 (v. 1) - Present - Sociological
Methodology VCU
Print and Electronic Holdings, 1969 - Present (1988 vol. 18 missing) - Sociology VCU
Print and Electronic Holdings, 1967 (v. 1) - Present
The following selected sources will help you find statistics related to social research. See Government Information or the Statistics Resource Guide for more sources of statistical information. For access to full data sets for secondary analysis, try ICPSR.
- American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en
Population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. - DataShare Metro Richmond
http://www.datashare.org/
A resource for demographic data at the neighborhood level for the Richmond, Virginia metropolitan region. - FedStats
http://www.fedstats.gov/
Access to statistics from over 100 federal agencies. - LexisNexis
Statistical VCU
Abstracts for statistical publications from 1973 forward; full-text of selected publications, 1995+. Power Tables feature searches words appearing in statistical tables. For items with a SRI, ASI, or IIS record number, check the Statistical Reference Index (SRI), American Statistics Index (ASI), or Index to International Statistics (ISI) microfiche collection. - Pew Research Center
http://pewresearch.org
Nonpartisan "fact tank" providing information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The Pew Research Center conducts public opinion polling and social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues. - VaStat
http://www.coopercenter.org/econ/VASTAT/
Business, demographic and economic statistics for the state of Virginia and its localities. - World Bank Group
http://www.worldbank.org/
An international organization owned by 184 countries - developed and developing - working to end poverty, improve education, health care and the environment. World Bank is publisher of World Development Indicators and provides many demographic statistics (see Data & Research tab).
The following resources will help you with sociology-related research. Please note that the list is selective. For more Web resources, you can search some of the sources listed below. When using the Web for research, remember to evaluate your sources for currency, objectivity and authority.
- American Anthropological Association (AAA)
http://www.aaanet.org/
Main professional association of Anthropologists - American Sociological Association (ASA)
http://www.asanet.org/
Main professional association of Sociologists. - Anthropology Resources on the Internet
http://www.anthropologie.net/
Part of the WWW Virtual Library Network, this site serves as a vetted portal to anthropology resources on the Internet. - Data and Information Services Center (DISC) Data Archives List
http://www.disc.wisc.edu/datalib.html
List of prominent data libraries and archives in the United States and abroad. - Electronic Journal of Sociology
http://www.sociology.org/
Full text, freely available, peer reviewed (in most cases) scholarly journal. - QualPage
http://www.qualitativeresearch.uga.edu/QualPage/
Resources for qualitative researchers. - Social Science Information Gateway: Sociology
http://sosig.esrc.bris.ac.uk/sociology/
Links to “high quality Internet resources” in sociology. - The Sociolog
http://www.sociolog.com/
Searchable site with links to sociology resources, including general reference, associations, journals, sociological practice, and sociology departments. - SocioSite
http://www.sociosite.net/index.php
Extensive collection of links to sociology sites and resources. Includes links for over 170 subjects areas in sociology, as well as journals, departments, association, and other related resources. - The SocioWeb
http://www.socioweb.com/
Guide to sociological resources available on the Internet.