Statistics Resource Guide
INTRODUCTION
Data Vs. Statistics: The purpose of this guide is to assist you with locating statistics. There is a difference between asking for data on a topic versus statistics. Asking for data implies that you want access to a file you can manipulate with programs like SPSS or SAS whereas asking for statistics means that you want to find prepared numerical information in the form of pre-prepared tables, figures, percentages and the like.
Why would I want to use statistics in my research paper? Statistics provide quantifiable evidence of change, trends, as well the demographic composition (demographics include age, race, gender, etc.) of a population you would like to study/develop services for/market to. The resources below are all freely available online. These sources have been reviewed and are known to be reputable. Please note that you should always evaluate any Web source you use for currency, objectivity and authority. Please remember to cite properly according to whatever citation standard you are required to use. See our Citation Styles Resource Guide for help.
federal statistics gateway (united states)
Fedstats.gov
Fedstats is a gateway site to statistics on nearly every topic imaginable that is collected by the federal government. It is a very user-friendly site, browseable by topic and geographic area. Please note that when you do use the Topics A-Z List you will be leaving the Fedstats site and taken to the government agency site that has statistics on the topic you need. To cite properly you will want to make sure you list the government agency that generated the statistics.
American Fact Finder
American Fact Finder is a resource provided by the United States Census Bureau. You can obtain fact sheets for different places, towns and cities in the United States. You may enter a place name or zip code and obtain the most current Census information for population, social, economic and housing characteristics. For most larger areas (population of 20,000 persons or more), you are able to view current estimates (2005 - 2007) based on data from the American Community Survey. You may also view additional statistical information on people (e.g. education, income, employment), housing (physical and financial characteristics) and government and business. Finally, you may access existing and develop your own thematic maps (a visual way to display statistical information).
Population Reference Bureau
The Population Reference Bureau
transforms technical data and research on population, health and the environment into accurate, easy-to-understand information by way of bulletins, data sheets, and their DataFinder.
United Nations Population Division
The UN Population Divison provides
demographic estimates and projections for all countries and areas of the world. These statistics serve as the standard throughout the United Nations system. International migration, infant, mortality, as well as the demographic impact of AIDS, are critical emerging issues that are addressed. Their reports, newsletters and wall charts are easily accessible through the site and contain useful statistics in all of the aforementioned areas.
DataShare Metro Richmond
This resource provides neighborhood level statistical information for the Richmond metro region. It includes general population information as well as other demographic information such as age, race, income and education levels. Please note that this data is based on the latest decennial census data (right now that is 2000).
Virginia QuickFacts U.S. Census Bureau
This section of the Census Bureau website provides all sorts of population figures on the state, counties and cities of Virginia. It also serves as a gateway to additional data on Virginia available through the Census Bureau
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Responsible for collecting and analyzing data related to education. You can access statistical publications here such as the Digest of Education Statistics as well as use tools to generate statistics "on the fly" such as the State Education Profile tool or the School District Mapping and Demographics tool. You may also want to check out the Fast Facts section or the Tables and Figures section (to search tables by key words).
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
A part of the
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the UIS
collects data on primary school enrollments through tertiary graduation rates (college-level). More than 200 countries and territories take part in the UIS annual education survey, which covers all education levels and a range of issues such as gender parity, teachers and financing. See the UIS Data Centre to construct your own data tables or opt to view the Key Statistical Tables on Education for a pre-defined set of statsitcs.
Virginia Department of Education (VDOE)
The data and publications section of the site provides access to timely statistics on the state of education in Virginia, including high school graduation rates, dropout rates, discipline statistics, truancy, special education, and home schooling. This site is the most authoritative if you want up-to-the-minute statistics on education in Virginia specifically.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS is the principal health statistics agency of the United States. Statistical information is collected on all aspects of health in the U.S. including particular health conditions (heart disease, diabetes, asthma), health care and insurance, injuries and accidents, life-stages (birth, children's health, older americans, mortality, etc.), and lifestyle (marriage/divorce, smoking, exercise, etc.). See the FastStats Statistics by Topic A-Z to get a quick list on all of these topics and more. For access to data files, see the Public Use Data Files and Documentation section. It lists surveys by title and links you to where you can download data files and documentation.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Through the Data & Statistics section of the site you may access the latest World Health Statistics Publication, Global Health Atlas and the comprehensive WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS).
Virgina Department of Health Health Records & Statistics
The Health Records and Statistics page provides links to areas in which statistics are collected (e.g. HIV/AIDS, Cancer Prevention, Lead Posioning) within the state of Virginia.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
The BLS collects statistics on all aspects of the nation's workforce such as unemployment rates, employment by sector, pay and benefits, consumer price index and employment costs. Use the Subject Areas section for an easy way to drill down to the statistics you need. The BLS also provides it's own Economy at a Glance section.
United States Census Bureau: Business & Industry Statistics
Provides links to summary statistics from multiple data collection programs pertaining to the U.S. economy. This includes the Economic Census, County Business Patterns, Statistics of U.S. Businesses and Foreign Trade (Exports by State). In addition, you may access statistics on special topics such as e-commerce, women & minorities (business ownership), and data by sector (e.g. construction, mining, etc.).
U.S Department of Commerce: Bureau of Economic Analysis
The link above is to the BEA U.S. Economy at A Glance page. This page provides access to the most up-to-date information on the GDP, personal income, industry accounts, international accounts and more. Information is presented clearly in statistcal charts and thematic maps. There are, of course, other areas of the site you may explore to get at deeper data.
Virginia Economy at a Glance
This is provided by the BLS. This includes current unemployment rate, number of persons unemployed, and number of persons employed by sector (up to the last month - numbers are preliminary).
public opinion and popular culture statistics
Gallup
Gallup has been polling the masses for over 70 years. Take a look at the Hot Topic section to get a "finger on the pulse" view of the nation.
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
The Pew Research Center is a non-partisan, public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. Surveys are conducted monthly, and easy-to-read survey reports are provided for public viewing and use on the Website.