Study Skills Resource Guide
As you make your transition to college life at VCU, you'll find that different things are expected of you in college than in high school, and in order to be successful, many of your old habits will have to change too. The University College outlines four major areas of expectation for VCU students:
- College is a Full-Time Job (Time Management): Students are expected to make college their focus and manage their time accordingly.
- Get Connected: Students should get to know their faculty, majors, campus resources, etc.
- Got Study Habits?: Students will need to identify and adopt new study habits to be successful.
- Be Prepared: Students should be prepared for each class as though a test will be given.
To help you meet these expectations, this guide highlights VCU Libraries resources that address all four areas. This guide also describes the resources, where they are located and how you can get help.
Use the recommended resources listed under the Quick Starting Places section to begin.
The following books and Web sites are recommended starting places for developing your skills. Look over the entire guide for more resources. You can access eBooks by entering the titles in the VCU Libraries' NetLibrary search box and selecting the "title" button.
College is a Full-Time Job (Time Management):
- (eBook) Organization Skills by Richard Worth
Contains worksheets, checklists and exercises for both students and business people. - (Web site) Managing Your Time, Academic Skills Center, Dartmouth College
Offers a time management video, time management tips, and downloadable calendars for creating schedules.
Get Connected:
- (Web site) Current Students
Contains links to the most important information for students, including New Student Information. - (Web site) University College
The UC is the front door to VCU for first-year and transfer students.
Got Study Habits?:
- (eBook) The Great Big Book of How to Study by Ron Fry
Addresses a variety of topics including organization, memorization, using libraries and computers, and writing papers.
Be Prepared:
Gathering course materials
- You can determine what books you need for your courses by reviewing your course syllabus or by visiting the bookstores on the Monroe Park Campus or Medical Campus.
- VCU Libraries does not generally collect textbooks, but if your instructor put books or articles on reserve for your class, you can find them by searching the Libraries' Course Reserves. Electronic reserve materials can be viewed online. Print materials are located in Media & Reserve Services on the 3rd floor of Cabell Library.
Need help? Do you need help accessing these resources or finding other study skills material? We're happy to help you! See our Get Help section for all the ways to get assistance.
College is a Full-Time Job: Time Management
Electronic books (eBooks) - Available online
You can access these eBooks by entering the titles in the VCU Libraries' NetLibrary search box and selecting the "title" button:
- The Complete Idiot's Guide to Overcoming Procrastination by Michelle L. Tullier
Addresses the causes of procrastination with tips and tricks for getting things done at work and at school. - Organization Skills by Richard Worth
Contains worksheets, checklists and exercises for both students and business people. - Ready, Set, Organize!: A Workbook for the Organizationally Challenged by Pipi Campbell Peterson
Focuses on long-term and short-term time management as well as how to organize physical belongings, files, etc. - Stress & Time Management: The Easy Step-By-Step Guide by Brian Lomas
This book has a business orientation, but discusses topics relevant for students such as the symptoms and causes of stress, how to structure your day and prioritize tasks.
Find more books
You can find more print and electronic books by entering the term time management into the VCU Libraries Catalog and selecting "Subject begins with" from the drop-down menu below the search box.
Internet resources
A number of colleges, universities and organizations have produced quality guides to help students develop time management skills:
- College Survival Skills: Time Management - Clemson University
Brief tutorial that outlines the importance of time management skills and provides examples of detailed weekly planners. - Managing Your Time - Academic Skills Center, Dartmouth College
Offers a time management video, time management tips, and downloadable calendars for creating schedules. - Time Management Sites - HowToStudy.org, Chemeketa Community College
Lists Web sites for time management advice and tools. - Time Management Strategies for Improving Academic Performance - Cook Counseling Center, Virginia Tech
A step-by-step tutorial that guides students through the process of assessing workloads and creating schedules.
There are many ways to get connected to people and resources at VCU. Below is a list of the Web sites that address students' most common questions:
- Calendar of Events
Also includes links to the Academic Calendar, Final Exam Schedule, VCU Holiday Schedule, and Richmond area events. - Current Students
Contains links to the most important information for students, including New Student Information. - Facts about VCU (VCU Facts)
Brochure that contains basic facts about VCU including enrollment statistics and demographics. - Faculty Experts
Click on a subject area to find faculty who are experts in that field. - myVCU
myVCU is your personal, customizable, web-based informational portal to Virginia Commonwealth University. - Undergraduate Study Bulletin
The Undergraduate Bulletin documents the official admission and academic rules and regulations that govern education in the undergraduate degree programs at VCU. In-depth descriptions of each undergraduate degree program are provided in the individual school and program chapters of this bulletin, available in PDF format. Updates to this bulletin are made annually.- Also see the Schedule of Classes
- University College
The University College is the home for the programs and services for first-year and transfer students. The site contains information on advising, curriculum, help with classes, FAQ's, etc. - VCU A-Z
Provides and alphabetical listing of VCU Web sites. - VCU Maps
Search for buildings by name or function on the Monroe Park and Medical campuses. - VCU Search
Find people, important resources and search tools.
In addition to reviewing the section on Time Management, you may also want to consult these resources about improving general study skills:
Electronic books (eBooks) - Available online
You can access these eBooks by entering these titles in the VCU Libraries' NetLibrary search box and selecting the "title" button:
- Critical Thinking for Students: How to Assess Arguments and Effectively Present Your Own by Roy van den Brink-Budgen
- The Great Big Book of How to Study by Ron Fry
- How to Prepare for College by Marjorie Eberts and Margaret Gisler
- How to Study by Ron Fry
- How to Study: And Other Skills for Success in College by Allan Mundsack, James Deese,
and Ellin K. Deese. - Studying at University: How to Make a Success of Your Academic Course by Kevin Bucknall
- Test Taking Strategies and Study Skills for the Utterly Confused by Laurie Rozakis
Print books - Available in Cabell Library
Books with call numbers that begin with the letters A-M are located on the 3rd floor; books with call numbers that begin with the letters N-Z are located on the 4th floor. See the map or ask a librarian for help if you have trouble locating these books:
- College Study Skills: Becoming a Strategic Learner by
Dianna L. Van Blerkom
Call number: LB2395 .V36 1999 - Exam Success by David McIlroy
Call number: LB2395 .M336 2005 - On Course: Strategies for Creating Success in College and in Life by Skip Downing
Call number: LB2343.3 .D69 1999
Find more books
You can find more print and electronic books by entering the term study skills into the VCU Libraries Catalog and selecting "Subject begins with" from the drop-down menu below the search box.
Internet resources
A number of colleges, universities and organizations have produced quality guides to help students develop study skills:
- Study Guides and Strategies
Academic Center for Excellence, University of Illinois at Chicago
Topics include managing test anxiety and stress, study groups, increasing reading comprehension and speed, writing, and studying for particular courses. - Study Guide Zone
The Study Resources Directory includes information on learning styles, taking standardized tests, classroom learning, and more. - Study Skill Self-Help Information
Cook Counseling Center, Virginia Tech
Provides help for improving test performance, reading comprehension, memory, note taking and also includes a study skills inventory. - StudyTips.org
Topics areas include Writing Help, Math Help, Science Help, Test Taking, and Learning Information.
Study spaces
James Branch Cabell Library
Which floor is right for you?
- 1st, 2nd Floors: Collaborative Study & Computing
- 3rd Floor: Quiet Study -- Whisper Only
- 4th Floor: Silent Study -- No Conversation
Look for additional information including the Presentation Rehearsal Studio at the Study Spaces page.
The resources presented in the Time Management and Study Skills sections can help you prepare for your classes. In addition, be sure to ask your instructors what their expectations and requirements are for particular courses.
Gathering course materials
You can determine what books you need for your courses by reviewing your course syllabus or by visiting the bookstores on the Monroe Park Campus or Medical Campus.
VCU Libraries does not generally collect textbooks, but if your instructor put books or articles on reserve for your class, you can find them by searching the Libraries' Course Reserves. Electronic reserve materials can be viewed online. Print materials are located in Media & Reserve Services on the 3rd floor of Cabell.
No matter what your needs are, there is always someone available at VCU to help you. The following are some important services related to students' academic work:
- Academic Success Program for International Students - University Counseling Services
The ASP assesses and addresses students' learning needs and also offers specialized workshops and resources. - Ask a Librarian
Librarians are happy to help you with any research assignments or questions you may have. You can e-mail us, call, visit the Reference Desk, or set up an individual consultation. Just ask! - Campus Learning Center
VCU's Campus Learning Center provides academic support to undergraduates through one-on-one tutoring, study groups and supplemental instruction. - Services for Students with Disabilities
VCU Libraries also offers specialized services for persons with disabilities. - Writing Center
The VCU Writing Center helps students generate and organize ideas for their papers, projects and reports. Students can drop in or make an appointment. - Writing with Integrity Workshop
VCU Libraries Blackboard course. Useful tips and examples in the "Writing Strategies" and "Plagiarism Prevention Tutorials" sections. Check VCU Library Events for scheduled offerings of the workshop.
For more information about services for students, see the VCU Current Students page.