Search


  Theatre Resource Guide

Librarian
Name: Kristina Keogh
Phone: (804) 828-6339
Email: keoghkm@vcu.edu

Introduction

This guide provides an overview of tools and basic strategies for conducting library research in Theatre. Included is information on finding circulating books and reference sources, journals (both in print and online), databases, and major Internet resources. All collections marked VCU are available on both campuses OR off-campus with EZProxy.

Books

Check the Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to determine what books, journals and audiovisual materials the Libraries own and where they are located. 

  • General searching: When you are looking for books on a topic do a Words Anywhere search first. Example: "theatre or theater or drama" will search for both spellings of theatre or the word drama in all catalog entries.
  • Specific Play Titles: To locate specific play titles in Cabell, try a Title begins with... search first for the play title (remember to omit the initial article). If this search yields no results, try an Advanced Search to find the play as part of a collection.
  • E-Books: VCU Libraries provides access to a collection of electronic books through NetLibrary VCU only. (From the home page, click "Quick Links," and choose "E-Books.") NetLibrary is a collection of electronic books from leading university, trade and professional publishers available via the Internet 24 hours a day. For full access, VCU faculty, students and staff must first create free individual user accounts. More about NetLibrary.
  • Browsing the shelves: 
    Books are filed using the Library of Congress system which group books into subject areas. Some of the broad Theatre categories begin in the following sections:
    • GT - Costume History
    • NA - Architecture - General
    • NK 1700 - Interior Design
    • NK 2200 - Furniture
    • PN - Literature (Note: This is an extremely large sections. Try the catalog first!)
    • PR 621 - English Literature - Drama
    • PS 330 - American Literature - Drama
    • TS 1300 - Textiles
  • Where do I find things? Check out where things are in the Cabell Library.
  • Do other libraries have what you need?
    • Interlibrary Loan: VCU Libraries will get the items that you need if they are not in the collections. You do not need to identify which library has the required item - we'll do that for you. See what you need to do. To search for materials in other libraries, use the Worldcat VCU database or check the catalogs of other Virginia Libraries.

return to top

Selected Reference Resources

Plays and Monologues

  • Guide to Monologues, Men: an index of over 800 monologues from classical and modern plays. Cabell Library Reference PN 2080 .G84 1988
  • Guide to Monologues, Women: an index of over 800 monologues from classical and modern plays. Cabell Library Reference PN 2080 .G85 1988
  • Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985. Cabell Library Reference Z 5781 .O8 1988
  • Play Index. Cabell Library Reference Z 5781 .P53

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • The Cambridge Guide to Theatre. Cabell Library Reference PN 2035 .C27 1995
  • The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. VCU Cabell Library Reference PN 2035 .C63 1992
  • Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis. Cabell Library Reference PN 2035 .P2913 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting. Cabell Library Reference PN 2091 .E4 B66 2003
  • International Dictionary of Theatre. Cabell Library Reference PN 2035 .I49 1992
  • An International Dictionary of Theatre Language. Cabell Library Reference PN 2035 .I5 1985
  • McGraw-Hill Encylopedia of World Drama: An International Reference Work in 5 Volumes. Cabell Library Reference PN 1625 .M3 1984
  • Modern World Drama; an encyclopedia. Cabell Library Reference PN 1851 .M36
  • The Oxford Companion to the American Theatre. Cabell Library Reference PN 2220 .B6 2004
  • Theatre Backstage from A to Z. Cabell Library Reference PN 2091 .M3 L68 1989
  • The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. Cabell Library Reference PN 1861 .W67 1994

Biographical Resources

  • Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television. Cabell Library Reference PN 2012 .W5
  • Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary. Cabell Library Reference PN 2285 .N65 1989
  • Variety Obits: An Index to Obituaries in Variety, 1905-1978. Cabell Library Reference PN 1583 .P4
  • Who Was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976: A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Directors, Playwrights, and Producers of the English-Speaking Theatre. Cabell Library Reference PN 2597 .W52

return to top

Journals

Journal Finder

E-Journal Search
This will let you know whether an electronic version of a journal is available from VCU. Links to journals are provided. Note: the search box only searches for the names of journals, not the subject content - use one of the research databases for this.

Alternative : Go to the VCU Libraries Catalog, select journal title search, type in the title of the journal.

Selected Journals

return to top

Research Databases

Most of these databases feature the "Get it @VCU" tab - SFX. This service provides hyperlinks to a variety of options such as the electronic full-text (if available), the VCU library catalog, ILLiad, and Ask-a-Librarian.

Art Full Text (1984 - present) and Art Index Retrospective (1929 - 1984) VCU

Citations and some full text to articles from periodicals published throughout the world including yearbooks and museum bulletins. Also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Retrospective is an electronic version of Art Index, volumes 1-32, and contains all citations found in the print version.

ARTstor VCU

Curated collections of digital art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to enter. Uses cookies and pop-ups.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals VCU (1930s - present)

Citations from the international architecture literature. Also includes archaeology, city planning, interior design and set design.

Applied Science & Technology Index  VCU (1983 - present)

Citations to articles from a variety of publications for trade, industry, professional and technical organizations.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) VCU (1973 - present)

International index to articles in more than 450 design and craft journals. Also contains data on designers, craftspeople, studios, schools, workshops, and firms.

English Verse Drama Database VCU (1300 - 1900)

Contains more than 1,500 works by 450 named authors, plus approximately 230 anonymous works.

Essay and General Literature Index VCU (1985 - present)

Citations to essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works. Subject coverage ranging from economics and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Humanities Index VCU (1984-present)

Citations to articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) VCU (1998 - present)

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) is a indexes more than 210 international journals.

Literature Online (LION)  VCU

Text-rich resource that includes humanities journals, English and American literature, and reference resources.

MLA International Bibliography  VCU (1926 - present)

The Modern Language Association of America's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Citations only.

return to top

Searching the Web

Selected Theatre Directories and Guides to Resources

  • Artslynx - International arts resources in theatre, dance, music and more. Includes links to national and international organizations. (http://www.artslynx.org)
  • NYU Performance Studies - Research subject guide from NYU Libraries. (http://library.nyu.edu/research/perform/)
  • The Obie Awards - Off-Broadway awards, created by The Village Voice in 1955. (http://www.villagevoice.com/obies/)
  • Playbill Online (http://www.playbill.com)
  • Tony Awards (http://www.tonyawards.com)

Professional Theatrical Organizations

Acting Resources

Technical Theatre Resources - Costume, Lighting, Set Design

Text, Reviews and Writers' Resources

return to top