Research Paper Topics Resource Guide
This guide can be used to select a research topic or find basic information for a term paper. Books, series, online databases, and websites are included. If you require assistance in selecting or researching a topic, contact a librarian or request a consultation.
Topic Guides
- 10,000 Ideas for Term Papers, Projects, Reports, and Speeches - Kathryn Lamm
Cabell Reference LB1047.3 .L35 1991
Ideas are broken down by academic discipline and marked accordingto degree of difficulty. Although slightly dated, still a good general resource.
- 99 Jumpstarts To Research: Topic Guides for Finding Information on Current Issues - Peggy Whitley et al.
Electronic Resource available through NetLibrary. Search for "99Jumpstarts" by title in the VCU Online Catalog and follow the instructions.
For each of the 99 topics, the authors offer search terms, food for thought, resources for locating background information and statistics, and library catalog subject terms.
- Term Paper Resource Guide to Twentieth Century United States History - Robert Muccigrosso
Cabell Stacks E741 .M83 1999
Presents five hundred research ideas from the top one hundred events and movements in twentieth century American history. The entries are arranged chronologically, and contain a short description, research ideas, and a thorough annotated bibliography.
Reference Books
Browsing reference books is another effective way to identify or refine possible topics. The VCU Libraries contain a multitude of interdisciplinary and subject-specific reference sources to assist researchers. Such sources include:
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Cabell Reference E169.1 .E324 2001
- Encyclopedia of Religion and War
Cabell Reference BF80.3 .E53 2004
- Social Issues in Science and Technology: An Encyclopedia
Cabell Reference Q175.5 .N49 1999
Each of these series examines various contemporary controversies and serves as an introduction to differing viewpoints related to the issues. They often include primary sources such as speeches and articles written by advocates and authorities on the subjects. Bibliographies will lead researchers to additional resources.
To search for a series in the VCU Online Catalog, select "Advanced Search" and enter the series title in the search box. Select "Words in Series" from the "Field to Search" dropdown box.
- At Issue
- Contemporary World Issues
- Current Controversies
- Library in a Book
- Reference Shelf
For example:

- CQ Library contains both CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly.
CQ Researcher
Contains weekly reports which cover contemporary social and political trends such as cloning, gun control, and Medicaid reform. Reports are unbiased, and approximately twenty pages in length. Each report includes an overview, background, future projections, pro/con debate, bibliography, and more.CQ Weekly
" Your complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering." - GenderWatch
Full-text database of publications focused on subjects uniquely central to women's lives. Some materials from the 1970's.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, native and minority press.
Idea Debatabase - http://debatabase.org/
An International Debate Education Association website that "contains arguments for and against hundreds of debating topics, written by expert debaters, judges and coaches. Also included are background summaries, links to websites of interest and recommended books, example motions and user comments."
Idea Generator - http://www.lib.odu.edu/libassist/idea/index.php
Old Dominion University Libraries' list of research topic words and phrases, broken down by general subject area.