Youth Violence Prevention Resource Guide
This guide was created by VCU Libraries to support the faculty, students, and community members involved in VCU's Community Solutions initiative. Others may also find this information useful. The resources presented here are intended to provide background information and opportunities for further research in the area of Youth Violence. This guide is selective, and does not include all existing resources related to this topic. If you require further research assistance, please contact a VCU Librarian. For more information about the VCU Community Solutions, please refer to Division of Community Engagement.
Unless otherwise indicated, all of the following books are located in the Cabell Reference section, located on the first floor of Cabell Library. These books provide an overview of the major issues related to Youth Violence.
- A Directory of Youth Substance
Abuse and Violence Prevention Resources for Schools and Communities in Virginia
(2002)
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HV5824.Y68 D5 2002
- Encyclopedia of Adolescence (1991)
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HQ796.E58 1991
- Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
(2002)
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HV6017.E52 2002
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace,
and Conflict (1999)
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HM886.E53 1999
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
(2003)
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference and Cabell Library Government Documents (U.S.) J29.9/6
Also available online at http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS3909
- Violent Children: A Reference Handbook
(1995)
Call Number: Cabell Library Reference HQ784.V55 K56 1995
- Youth Violence Prevention Resources
(200?)
Call Number: Cabell Library Government Documents (U.S.) HE20.427:Y8/2
For books with in-depth treatments of particular topics, enter the following terms into the VCU Libraries Catalog search box and select "Subject begins with" from the drop-down box:
- adolescent behavior
- juvenile delinquency
- juvenile delinquents
- juvenile homicide
- violence in adolescence
- youth and violence
The following is list of selected journals available online.
Journals labeled
are accessible from both campuses, or
off-campus using EZProxy. Dates represent when
online full-text is available. Earlier copies in print may also be available. Please consult the VCU Libraries
Catalog for more information.
- Children
and Youth Services Review VCU (1979-)
Includes interdisciplinary, scholarly articles regarding service programs for children and youth.
- Journal
of Adolescence VCU (1984-)
"The Journal of Adolescence is an international, broad based, cross-disciplinary journal that addresses issues of professional and academic importance concerning development between puberty and the attainment of adult status within society."
- Journal
of Adolescent Health VCU (1995-)
"The Journal of Adolescent Health is a multidisciplinary scientific Journal, which seeks to publish new research findings in the field of Adolescent Medicine and Health ranging from the basic biological and behavioral sciences to public health and policy."
- Journal
of Interpersonal Violence VCU (1999-)
"The Journal of Interpersonal Violence offers the most up-to-date information on domestic violence, rape, child sexual abuse and other violent crimes."
Articles from 1997 to 1998 available through InfoTrac OneFile.
- Journal of Youth and Adolescence VCU (1993-)
- New
Directions for Youth Development VCU (2001-)
"New Directions for Youth Development is dedicated to bringing together everyone concerned with helping young people, including scholars, practitioners, and people from different disciplines and professions. The result is a unique resource presenting thoughtful, multi-faceted approaches to helping our youth develop into responsible, stable, well-rounded citizens."
- Reclaiming Children and Youth VCU (2000-)
- Youth
and Society VCU (1999-)
This valuable resource examines critical contemporary issues and presents vital, practical information for studying and working with young people today.
For more print and electronic journals, enter the following terms into the VCU Libraries Catalog search box and select "Subject begins with" from the drop-down box:
- Violence -- Periodicals
- Youth -- United States -- Periodicals
Finding Articles with Databases
Databases are tools used for finding articles about a
particular topic. Youth Violence is a multidisciplinary topic, and so relevant
articles may be found in many different databases. Below is a short list of
databases and their related subject areas. Databases labeled
are accessible from both campuses, or
off-campus using EZProxy.
- Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Abstracts VCU
- Education: ERIC
- General: Academic Search Complete VCU
- Health Sciences:
- Health Reference Center-Academic VCU
- MedlinePlus
See MedlinePlus report on Teen Violence - PubMed - general access; PubMed VCU - links to articles
- News: LexisNexis Academic VCU
- Psychology: PsycInfo VCU
- Social Work: Social Work Abstracts VCU
- Sociology:
- Statistics
These selected web sites have been reviewed for reliable, quality information.
- Forum for Youth Investment
- "The Forum for Youth Investment is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to helping communities and the nation make sure all young people are Ready by 21™ -- ready for college, work and life."
- Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
- From the Center for the Prevention of Youth Violence. Includes research findings, data and statistics.
- Medline Plus: Teen Violence
- From the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutues of Health.
- National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
- See the Youth Violence Fact Sheet and Research Agenda.
- National Institute of Mental Health
- See Children and Violence page.
- "The NIMH conducts research looking at violence in young people, as well as the effects of violence on young people...
- National
Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center
- See Youth Violence-Related Facts, Statistics, and Research (topics in alphabetical order).
- The
Stanford Health Library
See: Youth Violence
- Youth Violence: A Report of the Surgeon General (January 2001)
- Youth
Violence Prevention Resources
- Bibliography from the National Library of Medicine
- Last updated January 2001
The following web sites contain information specific to Richmond and Virginia.
- Center for the
Study and Prevention of Youth Violence at VCU
"The Center, in collaboration with university researchers and the communities of Richmond, promotes state of the art violence prevention programs around priorities defined by the community."
- ConnectRichmond
ConnectRichmond is a clearinghouse of community information on a variety of issues. It is a joint project of the Community Foundation Serving Richmond and Central Virginia , the Junior League of Richmond, the Markel Corporation, the University of Richmond , and Virginia Commonwealth University.
See Youth and Violence and Juvenile Justice.
- Virginia Department
of Criminal Justice Services
See Virginia Center for School Safety - Resources & Publications and the Juvenile Services Section.
- Virginia
Department of Health - Center for Injury and Violence Prevention
Includes Best Practices, Virginia Studies and Statistics, and References.
- Youth
Violence Project
Supported by the Curry School of Education at the University of Virginia.
The following library guides were consulted for this project and contain useful information related to Youth Violence:
- Cal State Fullerton -- Pollak Library
Youth Violence
- University of Mississippi Medical Center -- Rowland Medical
Library
Topic Tracks: Youth Violence